Consulting

Services

Social Science Literature Reviews

I am a curious generalist who is fascinated by all aspects of the social sciences. If you have a specific question about some social-science topic—whether it’s decision-relevant or just something you’re curious about—I can provide a review of what the literature has to say about your question (sometimes including “nothing”). I take a critical eye towards studies and what we can infer from them—I strive to always be mindful of the replication crisis. I embrace uncertainty and alternate explanations of the data.

Example projects include:

  • What is the evidence that puberty blockers improve transgender teenagers’ mental health?

  • How likely is it that PTSD will get better on its own, without therapy?

  • How are the personalities of vegans different from the personalities of omnivores?

For an example of my work, see my series on measuring animal welfare.

Writing and Editing

I am available for freelance writing and editing. I strive to explain complex topics in a way that’s not only clear to an ordinary person but also interesting, engaging, and maybe even funny. I believe there’s no such thing as a boring topic, just an unskilled writer.

I can write everything from magazine articles to blog posts to marketing copy to executive summaries of longer and more complex articles.

I can edit both fiction and nonfiction.

I am also available as a writing coach. Have something to say, but struggle figuring out how to say it? I can coach you through any step of writing: I can provide accountability to sit down and write, help you brainstorm what exactly you want to say, edit your blog posts for style and clarity, and encourage you to hit the post button.

Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion

I can help make your project more inclusive of members of groups marginalized on the axes of gender, sexuality, and disability (especially neurodivergence). I draw on both my life experience and my extensive knowledge of the literature. My perspective is practical and evidence-based. I’m not here to search into the deepest recesses of your soul to root out hidden homophobia and ableism; I’m here to give you information and perspectives that make it easier for you to reach your diversity-related goals. For a better understanding of my approach, feel free to check out my abuse, neurodivergence, and sexism tags.

Example projects include:

  • Helping to write a sexual harassment policy or code of conduct for a project.

  • Providing advice about how to make an event more welcoming and accessible to women, LGBT+ people, and disabled people.

  • Editing an article that touches on sensitive issues so that it conveys the same message without saying something you didn’t mean.

  • Providing a brief workplace training on transgender issues when a coworker has transitioned.

I am not an appropriate person to hire for DEI work related to race, class, or inclusion of people from the developing world.

Working With Me

Email me at ozybrennan@gmail.com. We can set up a time to talk or sort out the details over email, as you prefer. We’ll talk about the exact scope of the project, expected cost, and deadlines.

I can show you drafts and works in progress, or just present you with the finished project, whichever you like.

I charge between $50 and $150 an hour, depending on my other commitments and how interesting I find the project. I offer substantial discounts for projects that I believe will make the world better; if you have altruistic work and a limited budget, please email me and we can talk about it. While research is private by default, I will give a discount for research projects I’m allowed to post publicly.